Show and Tell

See what everyone else is showing and telling at Mel’s

Gordy 3

My sweet old man

Today’s show and tell is my fur baby Gordy.  He turned 13 in August and he has been my baby since he was 8 weeks old.  He was a free puppy in the paper.  I went up to this farm, pulled in the long dirt driveway, worked very hard at not running over 1 of many puppies jumping around my car.  I got out and met the owner and said “How do you keep them from running away?”  She said “We have a little shed with a fence around it but they keep getting out except that one.” She pointed over at the pen and there sat my baby all by himself.  He was just sitting there staring at me.  He was so cute I didn’t even look at the other puppies. I said “I will take that one.” It was love at first sight he has gone and done everything with me.  He was my tissue when I cried over many broken hearts and stupid boys. He traveled on the road with me for 23 hours straight, crawling through a blizzard, on my way home to Minnesota for Christmas. Last year Mark and I took him to the beach and swim in the ocean. Swim is a loose term he basically ran from the waves but he loved smelling all the sea shells. In October 2009 he beat out 9 other dogs in our Nashville Dog Days event for best Frisbee catch.  He can still haul ass at 13 and I love him so much. Mark jokes that I would leave him before I gave up Gordy.  He’s probably right though when he married me he knew I was an animal lover and I made a committment to this little black dog behind the fence to love him forever. I pray the day never comes when I have to put him to sleep. We have a deal that he will just go peacefully in his sleep in about 10 years.  I am going to keep him at his word.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Suzy said,

    That is so sweet!!! Gordy looks like he would make a great best friend. I love my dog and our dog before him. I’m also in Nashville. I’ll have to check out the dog Days!

    Give Gordy a pat on the head from a dog lover!

  2. 2

    Quiet Dreams said,

    He’s beautiful! His face and expression reminded me of Miss Famous in this photo (the highest praise I can give–lol).

  3. 3

    Justina said,

    He’s adorable! There’s nothing like a dog’s love and companionship. When we had our dog I would have said the same thing about the choice between him and my husband! lol

  4. 4

    Megan said,

    I love this post! Such a touching tribute!
    Thanks for your good wishes at my blog!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

