Will dinner involve more then a microwave?

I sit across from several folks at work most of the time they are quiet or do their work behind closed doors. But today our finance guy got a call from his wife. I couldn’t help but hear his side of the conversation. She was going out somewhere tonight and wanted him to watch the kids. He said “Will dinner involve more then a microwave?” It made me smile and ask myself are men useless? This guy leaves at 4pm everyday and is home by 5pm. Is there any reason he couldn’t make dinner for the kids. Perhaps he doesn’t know how to cook, perhaps he’s just lazy, and perhaps he feels it’s his wife’s job. I can’t tell you how many times I have come home after working all day, grocery shopped, ran errands then came home and made dinner for my husband and I. He has NEVER done that. He comes home and plays on the computer. Now it doesn’t really bother me because that is how I was raised and I love to cook. When I don’t want to cook he does take me out to dinner. When we were dating he used to cook me tuna, sushi, grill things. Once we got married he forgot how to open the pantry and make something. Unless it can be micro waved or eaten out of the package he won’t bother with it. What’s maybe worse is I enable him to be this way. When I cook I make sure there are leftovers so he can pop it in the microwave. Or stock the kitchen with cheese (it has to be sliced) crackers, trail mix so he won’t starve. How did I get here? How did I become my mother?

I would have loved if my co-workers wife said “nope you have to make them something.”

Oh well I guess we are farther away from woman’s liberation after all.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    KK said,

    TFO is actually the primary meal preparer in our house. His coworkers have commented several times that his leftovers for lunch always smell good and I must be a great cook. I always have to point out that he is the cook and I am the one who benefits. He also does all the baking. I totally lucked out in this arena.

    I often wonder if it would have been different if he had a sister, but his mom had only boys and both of them grew up helping her cook and bake but TFO’s dad does almost nothing in the kitchen. So I wonder if they had had both boys and girls would the traditional gender roles been maintained?

  2. 2

    Myndi said,

    It’s our own fault! We raise ’em that way and then send them off to women who were raised to take care of them. We fall into the pattern without even thinking about it. 🙂

  3. 3

    Wishing4One said,

    I had to laugh at this post. I so enable Super S, i spoil his ass rotten but I enjoy it and if he had to he could maybe do something simple in the kitchen. We laugh because he’ll ask me “how many sugars do i take in my coffee?” Joking of course. I love to cook, I love to take care of him that way, but if push came to shove he would so get his butt in gear. He’s cool that way.

  4. 4

    bre said,

    I laughed out loud reading this, because we are the same way. I have been with my dh for over 8 years, and I just learned saturday that he can cook omelettes better than me.

    He is trying to do more around the house, and I am definitely letting him!

    But dang, 8 years and he’s never made me eggs before? EGGS? Sad!

    PS i haven’t turned into my mom, she would be beside herself if she knew I did everything for dh.

  5. 5

    PFM said,

    In my house my husband is the cook. He enjoys cooking more than I do but I also have a more flexible schedule. I feel obligated to make dinner but I do not like doing it. Thanks for the birthday wishes.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

