Consult with Shady Grove

We had our consult with Dr Chang at 6:30am this morning. I am not a morning person but was ready to get up for this. It gets me one step closer to starting IVF #2. Dr. Change was nice but was all business. There wasn’t any get to know you questions. I am giving his clinic a get out of jail free card because of the snow in DC. But he didn’t have my medical records, and hadn’t looked them over. I had to fill him in on all we had already done. He said we would qualify for the Shared Risk program which is the whole reason we are changing clinics. The only difference between his protocol and our Nashville clinic would be triggering me with Lupron instead of Ovidril to cut my chances of hyper stimmulation. So I didn’t love him but I do love their Shared Rick program. I am hoping Dr Ahlering with SIRM St Louis has a warmer personality but we will see on 2/17. Dr Chang would want me to be in Maryland for 2 weeks so I am going to talk to HR about going on short term medical leave.

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Amber said,

    You will LOVE LOVE LOVE Dr. Ahlering! He’s the best, the sweetest, so smart too! I start my IVF injections next week for the March cycle. Stop by their website and join the discussion boards and you will be able to meet tons of women and ask all the ladies! Good luck to you!

  2. 3

    pandabox33 said,

    With this comment, you should see my cat’s face. I hope.
    Thank you for your comment on my blog and I wish you good luck with IVF #2.

  3. 4

    KK said,

    I’m sorry Dr C was lacking in the bedside manner. I hope Dr A is better!

  4. 5

    Sunny said,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I didn’t see Dr. Alhering, but I did see his partner (before they joined together). He’s the one who knocked me up with my son, in fact. LOOOOOOVE him, and I’ve heard great things about Dr. A. Good luck and hope IVF #2 is a huge success!!

  5. 6

    Kristy said,

    I just wanted to chime in as a success story out of Shady Grove. The process for me could not have been better. After 4 failed IUIs, I had success with IVF with ICSI at Shady Grove. I am happy to share my experience with you if you have any questions. Good Luck!

    • 7

      cowgirltn said,

      Kristy we haven’t ruled Shady Grove out I just was hoping Dr Chang had better bedside manner then my doc here. Shady Grove is one of the best and if you have to go through this fantastic IVF door why not use the best. Congrats on your success it’s encouraging.

  6. 8

    Wishing4One said,

    Yeah like I’ve said just frm email communication with Dr. Ahlering he is awesome. Best of luck and may the best man win, corrny sorry. Have a great weekend! xoxo

  7. 9

    Emily said,

    Sounds like it went well! Can’t wait to hear how the SL consult goes! I hope you find a doctor you like. If not, you are doing the shared risk, so you are at least guaranteed a baby!!!!

    Keep me posted. I still have those meds for you!

  8. 10

    ifcrossroads said,

    I wanted to let you know that although Dr. Chang wasn’t my primary RE, I did see him for a few monitoring appointments. He’s a good Dr, although, yes, he’s all business. Just so you know, you will very rarely see him at appointments. It will depend on who the RE is on staff that day. At the Rockville location where the ER and ET’s are done there is a rotating schedule of RE’s on call for those procedures. I had Dr.Saffan. Almost ALL of the SGFC RE’s are top-notch and their stats back that up. Plus, the Embryologists they have are incredible.

    I also used the Shared Risk program and even though I only cycled once, it was the best $20k I ever spent in my life.

    Wishing you lots and lots of luck!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

