Better Eqq Quality

Ladies, I am looking for ideas on improving my egg quality for IVF #3. I retrieved 21 eggs the 1st time and 12 the 2nd time.  Both times we only ended up with 2-3 ok quality embryo’s.  My FSH is good, my antral follicle count was good. So any ideas on how to improve the egg quality would be awesome.

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Heather said,

    No assvice here, sorry. I hope you get some great answers though!!

  2. 2

    Hannah said,

    Are you doing acupuncture? That can always help along with a healthy diet and exercise. Praying for you!

    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090413145955AAuoiUs

  3. 3

    Heather said,

    I personally don’t have any advice for you, but I recalled this link that you might find helpful. She just did a cycle at CCRM and this is what they recommended to her.

    http://lifeandloveinthepetridish.blogspot.com/2010/06/colorado-cocktail-details-for-those-who.html

    (Sorry, I don’t know how to put a link in the comments section)

    Best wishes!

  4. 5

    April said,

    I have read about the over the counter low does male hormone, DHEA. Look it up. Some fertility clinics are using it to help improve egg quality. Also, accupunture is suppose to be really good. Good Luck.

  5. 6

    Roccie said,

    I am eating Royal Jelly, CoQ10, Inositol, got to figure out what to do with Melatonin.

    Definitely acupuncture.

    Witch doctor moves are all I got for you.

  6. 7

    Emily said,

    Kristi,

    Have you had your testosterone levels checked? I know it’s crazy, but lots of women have elevated testosterone levels and higher than normal levels can decrease egg quality. I had slightly elevated levels and was put on Metformin which seemed to help decrease it. Might not hurt to look into it.

    Em

  7. 8

    I know these suggestions sound silly, but I swear it can help:

    Eat lots of eggs (especially the egg whites!)
    Acupuncture! Tell the acupuncturist exactly why you need a boost
    Maybe even arvigo massage

    I did all three during my June IVF/retrieval cycle and right before the doctor knocked me out, he said he was hoping for two eggs, but he’d be okay with one…he got 12! He was pretty shocked. 8 were mature and six are ready for FET in a couple months.

    Best of luck!

  8. 9

    sonja said,

    I did acupuncture and used royal jelly (fresh, not pill form) for my 2nd IVF.

    LFCA

  9. 10

    My Reality said,

    I found you through a link on Heather’s blog (Big P and Me) and saw this post.

    I would like to second the DHEA suggestion. It has done wonders for many bloggers, myself included. It helps improve egg quality. I think it was the main reason for our success with IVF.

  10. 11

    Mo said,

    Hi! Saw you’d clicked over…so sorry for your pregnancy loss.

    a few thoughts…ccrm put me on saizen (human growth hormone) for my two cycles there…not sure if it helped or not but we did get 14 blasts in two cycles (versus two adding five previous cycles together at cornell).

    also, not sure at what stage you’re running in to trouble with the embryos…I’ve been told that if you’re having difficulty fertilizing that suggests more of a sperm issue than an egg issue…there’s something called PICSI that can be done to select the best sperm and then inject them singly into the egg…

    lastly, ccrm seem to think my endo may decrease implantation…so they have me on lupron prior to transfer (also had the endo ablated last year).

    shady grove is a good clinic with a good lab – lab quality can also be a major factor in embryo development.

    wishing you the best of luck.

    Mo

  11. 12

    Baby On Mind said,

    I didn’t make transfer during my last IVF. This time, I added acupuncture and traditional chinese herbs. I know doctors don’t encourage taking chinese herbs at the same time with IVF, but it seemed that my embryos this time are of better quality.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

