Don’t Attempt this I am a Professional

This weekend was my last weekend before the fun begins.  I spent it riding, eating, drinking, and frolicking in the sun. I spent 3 days with; a newborn baby, a pregnant woman, and 5 children under the age of 5. I might be a glutton for punishment but I have found I love kids and love spending time with them.  I get more bummed out going home childless when I have had a fun day with kids then spending time with a pregnant person. For me I am more excited about the future child then the future belly.  Most who know me know I would be happy popping out a toddler rather then a newborn. Newborns scare the living daylights out of me but in order to get to the toddler I have to go through the newborn stage.   You all come correct me when I have a screaming 2 year old telling me “NO” or slapping me in the face.  

I have also discovered during this cycle I don’t want to talk about it. God bless I have very sweet people in my life and they want this to work just as bad as I do. However when someone starts asking me “how’s it going” “when do you head to MD” “this is so going to work this time”. I just think blah, blah, blah, stop talking about it. I guess that’s the downside of folks knowing. This IVF stuff just feels like a job to me now it’s just something I have to do.  I don’t love what I’m doing but it just might pay the bills.

Finally, here comes the blog title. My favorite nurse who has been with me since March decided to semi-retire to take care of her family.  She retired at the end of July and I was paired with a new nurse. The new nurse is a space cadet.  I have reminded her several times now of my protocol, dates, contact #’s.  She even wrote me last week and said “I’m normally not this spacey.” On Friday 9/3 I had my baseline blood work and US at my local OB office.  During the appointment I asked for the basic stats. My lining was good; the follies were quiet, etc.  Which was a smart thing because, spacey didn’t communicate with me until today.  I was set to start my meds on Monday 9/6 if my results were good.  I left spacey a voicemail on Friday, Saturday and again on Monday.  “Spacey this is Kristi I need to make sure I am supposed to start on Monday.”  Since I didn’t hear from her I just went off what I knew from my appointment and started my stims last night.  Now because I am a veteran I knew it wasn’t a big deal. Had this been my 1st cycle I would have freaked out.  So let’s hope spacey can remember the rest of my cycle.

Any whoooo I am off and running at 187.5 follistim and 75 menopur. Grow quality follies grow.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Banksybaby said,

    I envy anyone’s ability to not take it home with them after being around kids/pregger ladies. I am still struggling with all that. It follows me like a stinky fart. lol. Isn’t it amazing how it all becomes so second nature? It’s like you could be flipping a pancake, talking on the phone and shooting a stim all at once without batting an eye. It does get old to discuss, especially when you have been through it a few times. Maybe somehow it makes it a bit easier to deal with that way? I dunno. Well, here’s to some super duper follies and a successful cycle! Let this be the one. 🙂

  2. 2

    Heather said,

    It is great to have support, except when you don’t want to talk about your innards with everyone…

    That nurse would drive me NUTS! Good luck with her and with this cycle!!!!

  3. 3

    Lynda said,

    Good luck. I went to the dr for Ivf attempt #3
    hoping it works this time and we carry the whole way. Hoping and praying the best for you too.

  4. 4

    jill said,

    Wishing you luck!

  5. 5

    Hannah said,

    I hated when people would ask me about my appts too. I wish they would all just observe the don’t ask, don’t tell policy.

    Wishing you the best this cycle!

  6. 6

    babybaker said,

    sending your follies some plentiful and quality vibes. 🙂

    your nurse needs to get it together! that would drive me INSANE!

    god bless you for hanging out with babies and bellies. hopefully some of that baby-ness will rub off and stick around!

    i haven’t run into the questions yet even though we are starting to tell people. we’re telling my ILs next week and then my parents the following week. i bet the questions will start rolling in then.

    thinking of you as always. grow follies, grow.

    xoxo!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

