Shingles and Spotting

Oh lord just let me get to June 12th and deliver a healthy baby.  

First, Friday night Mark comes home and says “Babe my back is really hurting and I have these tiny bumps on my back. Will you look at them?”  So I do, then we Google what it could be and think its bed bug bites from his recent hotel stay in Alabama.  I proceed to clean it and put cortisone cream on it.  He falls asleep on the couch.   Saturday he gets up and it hurts even worse. So I suggest he goes to the Minute Clinic at CVS.  He does and heads out to figure out what is going on.  He calls me a couple hours later and he has Shingles.  Shingles is a painful version of the Chicken Pox that affects generally elderly.  Mark had Chicken Pox when he was a month old.  The clinic thinks work stress brought the virus back with a vengeance.  Oh and he was told he shouldn’t be around pregnant woman.  Ugggghhhhh!  So I call the on call OB to find out the scoop.  She said I’m ok since I had the chicken box.  I just can’t touch it or get to close to him until the blisters go away and turn into scabs.  If I do I have to wash my hands really well but I and the baby should be ok. So my poor hubby is on massive doses of antibiotics and sleeping in the guest bedroom.  By yesterday the blisters had moved around his mid-section to his belly.  

Second, I spent Saturday at the zoo with my 3 year old friend.  It was our special day so it was just him and I.  His mom and dad enjoyed their time alone.  So I walked a lot while pushing the stroller.  I just kept thinking moms with multiple kids have to do this all the time so can I.  Sunday, Mark and I went to the Titans/Redskins game (yes it was a depressing loss) and walked a good couple miles.  Sunday night I went to the bathroom and started spotting.  Cue tears of fear and prayers of hope.  I just kept praying and talking to pumpkin.  My abdomen was doing a lot of funky stuff yesterday.  Some sharp pains, some twinges, some pulls. At one point it felt like something was tickling me.  I had to pee 5 times in 5 hours.  As of this morning the spotting has stopped so I am hoping it was just growth.  If it comes back and gets worse I am calling the OB.  

I lay in bed last night crying. Just asking god why this can’t just be easy. Why do I have to keep spotting? I just want to get this baby here safe and sound.  I woke up this morning hearing gods reminder “You are pregnant you need to take it easier and rest more.”  I promise I will rest more, I promise I will continue to thank you for each safe day.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sienna said,

    ugh, you poor thing. that sounds scary. do you think it’s possible that you have a uti though? i haven’t had one during pregnancy, but used to get them all the time before, and there would be slight bit of blood. plus the fact that you’re peeing so much.

    i’m hoping this is nothing and it just goes away and STAYS away. hang in there, and if your anxiety gets worse, just call the doc. that’s what they’re there for :o) xoxo.

  2. 2

    Poor guy! I had a horrible case of shingles when I was seven (always a worrier) that went misdiagnosed for months. I still have scars from the blisters. I hope he feels better soon and that you and baby stay clear of that mess.

    I wish this time could be just happy, without worry. It isn’t fair. After the long road to get here and now this…it is just cruel.

  3. 3

    AZMamma said,

    OH NO! Shingles are SO painful, I hope he recovers quickly. As for the spotting I seem to have spotting after we are out and about walking as well. Then last night I had a horrible dream that I lost the baby. I can’t wait till my appointment tomorrow make sure everything is ok.

  4. 4

    jill said,

    Gah your poor husband! I hope he gets over this quickly.

    Sorry about the continuing scares. Hoping that things even out and the rest of your pregnancy goes perfectly!

  5. 5

    babybaker said,

    oh sweetie, i’m so so sorry you keep having to deal with things like this! just trust that everything is going to be okay. and be good to yourself. you deserve it! you’re doing everything right. it’s going to be okay. HUGS!

  6. 6

    Hannah said,

    I hope your hubby is feeling better. As far as the spotting, as long as it stops, you should be okay. I had it frequently in the first trimester and it freaked me out every single time, but I am grateful to be 23 wks along now. Hang in there and do take it easy.

    Sorry we beat your Titans yesterday. I didn’t get to watch the game, but I was happy to hear we won! We needed that win since we lost so bad the previous week.

    Have a great Thanksgiving!!

  7. 7

    Roccie said,

    I have been away too long. Magnificent news on your pregnancy. I can imagine the spotting is terrifying. I have read load of women passing through it successfully, but it doesn’t diminish you fear. You are not in my thought and prayers.

    Take care with the shingles. I got them when I returned to work with Toddlerina. Brutal stuff.

    Thanks again for your support. I didnt know you were around anymore and it means a lot to know you are pulling for us.

  8. 8

    Jenn said,

    Wishing you a healthy pregnancy and healthy baby. Thanks for the kind comment you left over at my blog.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

