I broke, the doppler is on it’s way

So I broke my goal of not buying a doppler.  I just kept saying to pumpkin I wish you could talk back and tell me your ok.  Well it can’t not until it starts kicking me.  But I can hear it’s heartbeat.  I did research and decided on the Sono..line B 3MHz.  With shipping it was only $65 and I can justify the expense with the peace of mind.  All the reviews were positive saying they found the heartbeat right away. So I was sold and just hope I can hear the heartbeat.  Our next appointment is on Monday 11/29 when hopefully the Dr will use her doppler. But after that I won’t have another appointment for a few weeks.

For those of you who bought a doppler do you have any tricks or tips?  Where should I put the wand to find the baby?

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    K said,

    I used one. It saved my sanity. Now, I was pg with twins so what worked for me may not work for you, but the one thing I can say is there were times I would have to really get creative in order to find my daughter’s hb. She was low in my pelvis and sometimes I was all the way down under my belly to find her. And it’s one of those sounds that you will know without a doubt that you’ve found it. I would recommend listening to your own heartbeat with it first, so you can easily tell the difference.

  2. 2

    christine said,

    I read often, but haven’t commented much…but, I wanted to say that I am so glad you broke down and ordered the doppler! Mine arrived when I was 8 week along and by 9w4d I was able to find the heartbeat within 5 minutes. Now I can not only hear the hb, but also the baby moving around and “whacking” it. It’s just so amazing to be able to hear that everything is all right from the comfort of your home.

    I hope yours gives you as much peace as mine has given me!! Congratulations on your pregnancy…you’re due just 3 weeks after me!

  3. 3

    christine said,

    oh, and tips? you’ll want to start down low and just move it around slowly. it may take a while to find the hb, but don’t let that panic you. at 11 weeks I believe mine was just slightly above my hairline. sometimes I had DH help. you’ll want to put some pressure on the doppler while you’re searching for the hb, too. oh, and you can use lube or lotion instead of the doppler gel if you run out.

  4. 4

    sienna said,

    that’s the doppler that i bought. i’ve only used it 4x’s in the last month, but it’s been very reassuring. just one word of caution: the first time, it was soooo easy to find the heartbeat. the 2nd and 3rd times were very hard, but JUST STAY CALM. it took me 10 minutes to find it the 2nd time and 5 minutes the 3rd time, but sometime’s it’s just really tricky to find. don’t panic in that case, okay?? just move slowly and steadily until you find the beat :o) xoxo.

  5. 5

    a said,

    Ask your doctor where your placenta is and where your baby is – those can affect how the doppler works. My doctor and his NP always had a hard time every time finding my daughter’s heartbeat with the doppler, because of the way she was laying and where the placenta was. So get a good idea of where to look first, and you’ll find it more easily.

  6. 6

    Becky said,

    Well, I have nothing to offer as far as advice because I never was/will be pregnant.

    But I am so excited for the progress you are making. I continue to pray for your health and your baby’s health.

    Looking forward to the day you hold your little one in your arms.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

