16 Week Journal Entry

We had our 16 week appointment yesterday.  We listened to the heart which I have to admit isn’t that exciting now that I listen to pumpkin whenever I want to at home.  My monitor is even picking up the baby kicking, moving, etc.  I am so GLAD I bought this doppler.  Due to a dinner conversation Sunday night with new parent friends of ours, we asked the doctor about circumcision if we have a boy.  Supposedly some doctors don’t numb the baby and that freaked Mark and I out.  Mark didn’t know he was circumcised I guess men don’t discuss it.  I said “Um yes you are I know the difference.”  Any way it turns out yes my doctor uses a pain blocker on the whole penis so they don’t feel it. Our next appointment is the big one on January 21st.  I can’t wait it’s going to be so cool.  We also found out the ultrasound will be a 4D US with a take home DVD.  That is going to be amazing.  We are heading to Florida this week to visit my mom for Christmas/New Years; I pray it’s going to be in the 70’s. I am so over winter already and I live in the south.

How far along: 16 weeks, 2 days

Total Weight Gain: 5 lbs 

Symptoms: The energy is back and I’m back to my busy self.  My back is starting to hurt almost everyday which I am guessing is from my boobs.  Laying down helps and taking baths. 

 Stretch Marks: Not sure if it’s the start of a stretch mark but I’m getting a faint horizontal line at my waist line.

Sleep: Back to a normal 8 hours a night with a little bit of restlessness.  My brain starts working overtime.

Best Moment Last Week: Getting a $275 gift certificate to Pea in the Pod 

Movement: In the last couple days I feel something but not sure if its flutters or not.  It makes me feel better thinking it is.

Food Cravings: Fruit and pasta but that’s what I ate before. I just eat more fruit. I am adding coke to my list but I’ve only had 1 since the BFP.  I am going to let myself have 8oz, once or twice a  week.

What I Miss: Being thin and beer.  I am not a huge drinker but I can’t wait to have a beer come June.  How could I forget riding?  Every time I am out with Roy I want to get on and go for a ride.  I’ve been riding for 29 years at almost 4 days a week.  So I miss it a TON!  I am already planning my 1st ride even if it’s a short one.

What am I looking forward to:  The anatomy scan I can’t wait to see what color we are painting its room?

Milestones: My pumpkin still has a heartbeat. My 1st un-invited belly rub from Mark’s friend.

 How is Daddy? I think realization is sitting in. He is going gang busters on his to do list.  Our family room has been painted, stripped of tile and now he’s tiling the fireplace.

I will say it again, and finally my very large belly shot, yes I have 24 weeks to go.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sienna said,

    love the belly pic!!! 5 pounds is great at this point. i’ve gained 13 and have no idea where it came from or went. very confused. i’m now convinced that i’m using my doppler incorrectly (and have been). i keep getting the beat at the same very low spot near my pubic bone, yet based on our scan last week, i know the baby is much higher now and her heartbeat is not near where i’ve been using the doppler. esp bc i’ve started feeling movement too. confused is my middle name right now. glad everything is going a-okay! can’t wait to hear the gender! i almost broke dh’s fingers bc i was so nervous when we were trying to get the money shot :o)

  2. 2

    Hannah said,

    I love having a doppler at home too! What a nice gift certificate you got. Enjoy the shopping.

    I just started adding diet coke back in to my eating habits. I quit cold turkey in the beginning, but now that I am in the third trimester, I think a diet coke once in a while doesn’t hurt. And since my baby doesn’t move a whole lot, I’ve found he moves more when he gets a dose of diet coke. I LOVE feeling every poke, punch, roll and kick.

    Enjoy your trip to FL! I’m so glad things are going well for you. Cute baby bump!

  3. 3

    sienna said,

    hey – it’s siennac456@gmail.com. i’m sure she’s just been busy with holiday stuff :o) i’m actually only a week and a half before you. am 17.5 weeks now. my doc’s office does the anatomy scan a little earlier than most, so still not at the halfway mark. although, i’m convinced i’m going to come a month early, so if that’s the case, i’m halfway there !! xoxo.

  4. 4

    babybaker said,

    oops, yeah i forgot to give you sienna’s email address! sorry! (blush!) pregnancy brain?

    love the cute lil belly momma! hope FL was a total treat!

  5. 5

    Getting energy back sounds fantastic – and just in time to get ready to paint!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

