I’ve changed my mind for now

So after my boss and I decided part-time wouldn’t work it was going to be SAHM time the anxiety kicked in.  Will I really want to be home 100% of the time? Will I miss my job, making my own money, etc?  The reality of it is I don’t know, I can’t answer that right now.  I think I’m going to want to stay home but I don’t know I will. I can’t make that decision until she gets here and I live that life for a couple of months.

So…I quickly told my boss this morning as he was rushing out the door.  He supports whatever I want to do he just doesn’t want me ping-ponging with my decision.  HR thinks it’s a good idea to take the maternity leave to figure things out and I can always quit the day I come back.  So they pulled my job posting and are hiring a temp to cover me for at least a couple of months.  Right now I am at peace with this knowing I have time to make a decision.  I get to collect my pay for a few more weeks, etc.  Mark has been supportive of whatever I decide to do but agrees it’s wise to take the maternity leave.

Now I have to decide on infant care when I come back. Do I put her in a daycare or hire a nanny for a couple of weeks? Who knows….

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sienna said,

    take your time deciding. it’s a huge change! that’s awesome that your bosses are open to you “thinking about it”. if there was even a hint that i didn’t wanna come back, all hell would break loose at my office (heehee, they have no clue i have no plans to come back). with that said, the thought of losing my income is starting to worry me. luckily, mine has always been fluff, but it’s a huge penny to lose, so ugh. very stressful.

  2. 2

    Hannah said,

    Sounds like you have a great boss! Take the maternity leave time to decide what you want to do and what’s best for your family. Some women find they don’t want to stay home, others find they can’t return to work.

    I actually return to work next week part-time for two weeks, then full-time. Fortunately, I get to work from home so I will have a nanny come in and help watch Matthew.

    Wish you the best with whatever your decision will be!

  3. 3

    Guera! said,

    I just wanted to stop by and give a long over due thank you to you for your congratulations for our new daughter. I appreciate it very much!

  4. 4

    Barb said,

    That sounds like a fabulous idea. There is just no way to know how you are going to feel. It’s good to try it out at least. Thank goodness your boss is so supportive. I wish with all my heart that I could work less. Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment on my post!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

