38 Week Update

We had our 38 week appointment today and we are inching closer to pumpkins arrival. I actually lost 2 pounds, not sure how that happened but it did.  I was concerned that she had stopped growing but the doc said nope she is bigger then last week.  So I guess she is just using my excess fat which is fine with me that’s less to lose when she gets here.  I haven’t had much appetite there’s not a lot of space to put food.  I eat because I have to but I am sneaking in a shake everyday to give her some fat. 

I am 1.5 centimeters dilated and 70% effaced, I have also lost my mucus plug so now we just wait for the contracts to starts.  Her head is farther down to so hopefully that means I can do a vaginal delivery.  But for those that have crossed over you know things can change on a dime. 

I am not fearing labor but I am getting more anxious about my life changes.  I guess it’s up to me how much I give up. Lunches with friends, riding, getting out of the house.  Knowing myself I will be out and about soon. I am not one to sit inside and watch tv.  When the doctor gives me the thumbs up pumpkin and I will be going places. 

Marks co-workers are finally throwing a baby shower on June 7th, yes that’s 5 days before her due date but better late than never I guess.  It’s very nice of them it just would be have been nice if it had been a month ago. 

So maybe by next weeks update I will have baby pictures to share and a birth story.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ingrid said,

    So exciting I cant wait to see pictures of your cute girl!
    I have been reading your journey since you joined stepping stone and had your own blog. It has been quite a journey but finally you are a mom. I am so happy for you =)

  2. 2

    amanda said,

    I have also been following your journey since SS and I have loved reading your posts…you have a great sense of humor! Sounds like ‘pumpkin’ will be here in no time…with my 2 it was within a week after losing my plug when I went into labor, hope the same for you. Also, I take Mason and Addison with me all over the place. I think its good for them to be out and about. It might take a little planning in advance and just give yourself extra time to get ready and out the door. You will fall into a routine and a ‘groove’ I can’t wait to see pictures!!

  3. 3

    sienna said,

    you might have this baby before i have mine!! i’ve read that in the last weeks, the baby doesn’t really gain much weight, and neither does mommy. glad everything is going well. such a last minute baby shower sounds kinda annoying (i agree, if you’re gonna do it, do it on TIME). my good friend who was due 2 days before me had her baby on the day of her shower last week. who waits so long for a shower? but that’s the only day her mother could “fit in”. haha.

  4. 4

    Hannah said,

    Any day now!! Can’t wait! Once you can get out and about with baby, just keep in mind it will take you A LOT longer to get out of the house on time.

    BTW, I call Matthew my little pumpkin. I’m afraid he’s going to start thinking his name really is pumpkin!

  5. 5

    Mina said,

    Not that long left now. I hope you have a wonderful birth experience, don’t be afraid of the pain, it will pass, and focus on you and your little girl. This is such a special time. Make the most of it. And don’t plan too much ahead, the days fly by and you are left wondering where did 10 months pass and reminiscing while watching videos and photos you took. So take loads of photos and make tons of videos – even if for the rest of the world they are silly and boring, for you they will be special.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

