Breech, C-Section and a very Sick Dog

Well here is one of hopefully very few pity posts.

1st – My sweet dog of almost 15 years is in the hospital.  Tuesday night he had gone to the barn with me.  He did his usual thing of sniffing, eating and hunting all things tasty.  Tuesday night he had an accident in the house, then another and another.  Wednesday morning I put him in the yard while I cleaned up the mess. I come back outside a few minutes later and he’s yelping in the backyard unable to move his hind end.  I run back inside to get my purse and come back out to find him laying down on the other side of the yard.  I pick him up and carry him to the vet.  He has been there for 36 hours with hind leg paralysis.  They are pumping him with IV fluids and trying out steroids, muscle relaxers, etc.  I am heading back in the morning to check on him again.  If he’s not better soon I will have to make the heart wrenching decision to put him to sleep.  Now I haven’t posted much about him because well I knew if I did it would probably be a farewell post and I just couldn’t stomach it.  But trust me when I say I love this dog, he has been my best friend, companion and baby for almost 15 years.  He has seen and done everything with me.  I wish he could live forever but I know that’s not possible.  I just would love to get a few more weeks with  him.

2nd – We met with my normal OB today for our weekly check up.  My normal OB has been out due to a hysterectomy the past month. So I have been seeing the other OB’s in the practice and all 3 for the last 3 weeks have been saying pumpkin was head down.  Well my normal OB took a little longer look see today and said “I’m not sure that’s a head.”  So out came the US machine and sure enough her butt is down and her head it up by my ribs.  Awesome!

3rd – There is little to no chance she is going to turn for me to have a vaginal delivery so we are scheduled for a c-section on Tuesday June 14th. Now the surgery doesn’t scare so much but the recovery does.  I don’t love the idea of being cut open and spending several weeks recouping.  But I don’t have much choice and I want pumpkin her safely. 

So as you can see I haven’t had the best couple of days.  But I do see gods grace and mercy all over this week.  The grace that pumpkin hasn’t arrived when I am trying to fight for my sick puppy.  The mercy that I have a scheduled c-section now which gives me more time to deal with said sick puppy and prepare for a c-section. 

So if you’re a christian and can pray for me I would appreciate it.  I need the peace and strength to do whats best for my dog.  If I have to say good-bye I pray for gods warmth to surround me so I can be the mother pumpkin needs.  If there is a miracle out there that my puppy can get stronger quickly so I can have a few more weeks with him I would appreciate it. The joy in knowing my little miracle will be here in 5 days.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    BigP's Heather said,

    Thinking of you!

  2. 2

    Amber said,

    I am a dog LOVER and totally undesrtand.

    God, thank you for your gift to us in animals. Thank you for their companionship, dedication, and love. I ask that you would place your healing hand upon her puppy and, it it’s your will, give them the miracle of healing in this important family member. Comfort and protect momi, baby, and puppy. We trust and have hope in you, in Jesus name, Amen.

    On a side note, superrrr excited for you on the 14th!!!!!! Can’t wait to here an update!

  3. 3

    christine said,

    Praying for you during this difficult time; praying for a miracle for your dog. Also praying that you have a great csection experience and a swift recovery.

  4. 4

    Laura said,

    I’m so sorry about your dog. Animals are the best! I hope he recovers and you are able to have some quality time with him. As far as the c-section goes, I had one and was lucky enough to have an easy recovery. I was driving in a week, easily caring for the baby and moving around. So it doesn’t have to be terrible. Good luck. I can’t wait to hear about your little one!

  5. 5

    Funsize said,

    Your poor puppy! I hope he gets better, so at least he can meet pumpkin.
    As for the c-section, I’ve had two. They just give you a spinal block so your legs and lower half goes numb, and the cutting/pulling feels like a really hard kick from the baby. The recovery isn’t hard. You get vicodin for pain killers, which is ok because it doesn’t pass through the breastmilk. It hurts if you sit up for a few hours, but the pain is more like a dull ache. And you have to have help to get you out of bed because your stomach doesn’t have any muscles to pull yourself up with. Plus, you get a longer recovery time than having a natural delivery, which means more time spent with the baby. That was the biggest plus I had.

    Can’t wait for updates and pictures!

  6. 6

    Tanya said,

    So sorry to hear about your dog. I hope he gets better.

    I will be praying for you as you prepare to meet your daughter. Like you said, what’s important is that she arrives safely and if a c-section is what’s needed to make that happen..then so be it. You have been through so much to get to this point and you need to enjoy every moment–even if it is not what you had planned.

    Can’t wait to hear that she arrived! 🙂

  7. 7

    Bec said,

    Love Amber’s prayer. My 3 fur babies were an incredible comfort to me through the whole IF ordeal. I understand the place they have in your heart. Praying for you.

  8. 8

    sienna said,

    you are ALMOst there!! hang in. i know those last days go by EVER so slowly. but soo worth it :o) xoxo.

  9. 9

    heather said,

    i know c-sections are not preferred, but don’t let it dampen your spirits or excitement! i had 2 unplanned c-sections. the recovery is not all sunshine and rainbows, but it’s not that bad. I was out shopping 5-6 days after both babies!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

